Parable of the talents.

Sunday Notes:

Matthew 25:14-30 >. The parable of the talents.

The master is Jesus Christ. “don’t make the mistake of thinking that one of these was not a professing believer” -Campbell. Him being cast into outer darkness is because he failed to bear fruit. We have talents; Christ will keep his word, he’s coming back, he will ask you “what have you done with what I have given you.” Everybody here has the capability to use what they’ve been given to glorify, serve God.

Rewards:
Commendation; “well done good and faithful servant”
Entrusted with more.
No excuses will ever be received by Jesus. An excuse is proclamation of faithlessness/doubt.

“Stir up the gift that is given you” -Paul.

Don’t be an almost Christian.

The more gifts I have, the more I am accountable for. That’s a lot of responsibility. YIKES!

Are you excited about Jesus coming back? The wicked servant didn’t expect his boss back.

Monday Study:

14For it will be like a man going on a journey, who called his servantsc and entrusted to them his property. 15To one he gave five talents,d to another two, to another one, to each according to his ability. Then he went away. 16He who had received the five talents went at once and traded with them, and he made five talents more. 17So also he who had the two talents made two talents more. 18But he who had received the one talent went and dug in the ground and hid his master’s money. 19Now after a long time the master of those servants came and settled accounts with them. 20And he who had received the five talents came forward, bringing five talents more, saying, ‘Master, you delivered to me five talents; here I have made five talents more.’ 21His master said to him, ‘Well done, good and faithful servant.e You have been faithful over a little; I will set you over much. Enter into the joy of your master.’ 22And he also who had the two talents came forward, saying, ‘Master, you delivered to me two talents; here I have made two talents more.’ 23His master said to him, ‘Well done, good and faithful servant. You have been faithful over a little; I will set you over much. Enter into the joy of your master.’ 24He also who had received the one talent came forward, saying, ‘Master, I knew you to be a hard man, reaping where you did not sow, and gathering where you scattered no seed, 25so I was afraid, and I went and hid your talent in the ground. Here you have what is yours.’ 26But his master answered him, ‘You wicked and slothful servant! You knew that I reap where I have not sown and gather where I scattered no seed? 27Then you ought to have invested my money with the bankers, and at my coming I should have received what was my own with interest. 28So take the talent from him and give it to him who has the ten talents. 29For to everyone who has will more be given, and he will have an abundance. But from the one who has not, even what he has will be taken away. 30And cast the worthless servant into the outer darkness. In that place there will be weeping and gnashing of teeth.

Jesus is giving us some insight for end times. Jesus does refer to end times quite a bit actually!  Some people have an opinion of end times that assumes only rapturitous freaks are concerned with the end times. If this is true, Jesus is one of them.  I don’t think any person, or all of them combined come close to talking about end times as much as Jesus did! He talked extensively about end times (in comparison to other bible authors).  What’s important to note is What kind of insight does he offer? Does Jesus give us direction and clues as to how to figure out just when end times are? No, rather, he strongly emphasizes what we are to be doing in preperation for the imminent coming of end times. His insights are usually stern warnings that challenge us and call us to live lives of deep conviction in holiness and fruitfulness.

In this parable the 3 servants are made stewards.  Each are made stewards but each have different levels of stewardship, 5 talents, 2 talents, and 1 talent.
✪ Everything we have is given to us by God. It is his, he has given it to us to steward. He will require a return.

I’ve often wondered before why Jesus didn’t use this parable to parallel the greatest shall be least, and least shall be greatest message that he preaches so often. My conclusion for now is that he wanted to (later in the parable) point out that even the person who has only a little investment to steward, even he will be kept fully accountable for what he does. Therefore no-one can have an excuse and say “but Father, I only had this little dinky talent.  What could I possibly do with that?”.
✪As Christian stewards it is important for us to remember that any seed that comes from God will not produce as harvest dependent on the size of the seed, but on the size God will the harvest to be.

Enter into the joy of your Master! I just wanted to touch on this part because Pastor Randy highlighted it and I had never noticed it before. What does it mean? If the servant were as selfish as me, he may have thought to himself “What’s the point in working so hard to generate money for my hard boss? It’s not like I am going to enjoy the talents I’ve worked so hard to get”. But the servant who made 200% was more concerned with his boss than he was for himself, and it paid off! “Enter into the joy of your Master“, Says the servants master!  I am delighted with the work you’ve done!  I am going to share all the joy of all I have with you, and make you responsible of even more, so that the next time we have a party like this, it can be even better!

Now the scary bit. The servant who was given one… Only one!  It’s not like his boss was really going to miss or notice only one talent, right?
✪I think the master in this parable notices not because of the value of the talent (God has an unlimited supply) but because of the heart of this servant; careless, fearful, and inconsiderate! That’s right! Your lazy attitude is not just a reflection of your understanding of the value of what God has given you, but a reflection of your concern for the person who gave it to you.
You wicked servant!
Ouch.
You ought to have invested my money with the bankers!
You didn’t pass the talent on to let someone else make something out of it! How inconsiderate.

And cast the worthless servant into the outter darkness. Again in Matthew we get a clear message.  Bear fruit or burn.
Jesus is serious about bearing fruit and the understanding is simple.  Jesus may say: I’ve done all the work, I’ve given you everything you need, now all you need to do is grow and you will bear fruit. We are lucky that he makes it so clear (thanks Dad!). Jesus lets us know in Matt 3 our true colours come out in whether we bear fruit or not! Jesus doesn’t leave us guessing.  Hell sucks big time!!! We don’t want to be there!

So how does this fit in with Spiritual gifts?

God has made us stewards of gifts given by him, and he is going to be coming to call for an account of each! Everybody should consider their own attitude and actions in regards to the gift God has given:

  • This gift came from God! He is worthy that I should use, hone and practice this gift with keen anticipation of the unfolding of his will according to this gift.
  • Because of his who gave this gift, it is immeasurably valuable. It’s only limitations by his will for it and all it’s potential rests on his power and strength. God is faithful and he did not give me this gift by mistake or to be  buried in the ground.
  • I will endeavor to enthusiastically care for, nurture, invest, hone, exercise, practice and share this gift with all that I can to honor the God who gave it to me!
Leave a Reply

