Getting through it.

So.  Once again I’m finding myself stumbling through meditation & devotional time. It’s taken me a month to get through Mat 1 – 6.  My problem seems to be the same whenever I am applying myself to study: I start of with a disciplined scheme and progress with tenacious passion and genuine interest for the early part of my commitment. Then I become so focused on methodology and intricate analysis that I become bored with myself. My study eventually becomes dry and difficult to get through, especially early in the morning – I end up going back to bed because I feel so tiered.

Unfortunately the only solution I can think of is to change my method frequently enough to stop me from over analyzing and drying out my devotional time. This solution is pretty much just a summary of what already happens anyway. I am just simply predicting my “dry-time” as an invariable therefore (hopefully) allowing myself a little more warning to switch things around before I get to comfy…  Sounds stupid but it’s all I’ve got.

If anyone has any better ideas…   let me know!

My newest study method is actually my original method. Here it is:

  1. DAY 1. Reflect on Sunday service message and make personal application notes.
  2. DAY 2. Read next consecutive N.T. chapter once through quickly and then a second time making key word notes on post its.
  3. DAY 3. Using online blog, journal to make short paragraph elaborations on each key word post it note.
  4. DAY 4. Read next consecutive O.T. chapter once through quickly and then a second time making key word notes on post its. Then write a short summary on the whole chapter.
  5. DAY 5. Read next consecutive N.T. chapter once through quickly and then a second time making key word notes on post its.
  6. DAY 6. Using online blog, journal to make short paragraph elaborations on each key word post it note.
  7. DAY 7. Read whatever book of the bible, devotional guide, application book and meditate on it with prayer and thought.  Take notes if necessary.
Leave a Reply

