Matthew Two – 2010

Chapter 2

 ★ v. 3When Herod the king heard this, he was troubled, and all Jerusalem with him;. I was surprised to see that all of Jerusalem was also troubled, after all, haven’t they been long awaiting the coming of they’re messiah King?  I think that maybe, because of the 400 years of silence, they had thought of the messiah as more mythical than promise.  They may have viewed the prophesies of their religion as more symbolic of important ethics and standards.  Maybe they had started to assume the position of being in control of their own righteousness, being their own messiah, and then when they had heard the the King was born, they were troubled because their religion which had turned somewhat inward, had now been rudely shaken by the reality that God’s plan was still in action. What were they to do now that they had diverted to the own religion created in their heart by over mysticizing and moralizing the prophesies and statutes of God? Just a thought.
✪ And if could be true for them it may might well be true for us.  I’m recalling times in my life when reading the bible I am suddenly rudely awakened by a scripture that comes like a slap in the face to say “wake-up silly”.  I find Matthew 6-7, and Revelation 2-4 to be peppered with them. they serve me as a reminder that God is very serious about his word.  He is King. He is coming again. He alone is righteous and He is just. It is at these times that I fall to my knees and cry for mercy. In pride, I have become dependent on my morality to bring resolution in my life. I must remember and I am reminded in the word that the only hope for righteousness I have is the righteousness of Jesus Christ, and the only resolution that is real, is not fully manifested in the perishable, but rather the imperishable in Glory in heaven with God.

★ v. 6 “‘And you, O Bethlehem, in the land of Judah, are by no means least among the rulers of Judah; for from you shall come a ruler who will shepherd my people Israel.’” Cited  from Micah 5:2.

★ vs. 10When they saw the star, they rejoiced exceedingly with great joy. 11And going into the house they saw the child with Mary his mother, and they fell down and worshiped him. Then, opening their treasures, they offered him gifts, gold and frankincense and myrrh.  I’m pretty amazed by the wise men.  Jesus hasn’t even done anything yet and they are rejoicing exceedingly with great joy, and offering him expensive gifts.  Unfortunately little is known about the wise men, or more correctly Magi from the east.

Continue to chapter three ➜

One thought on “Matthew Two – 2010

Leave a Reply

