Doubt = a transferal of faith

All humans have faith, there is no question.  Regarding faith the only question that matters is this, What do you have faith in?

There is no question of whether you have enough faith to be faithful.  By default you have enough faith in whatever you have your faith in, because once putting your faith in it – it will do the rest of the work.

Example: A man forced to jump of a cliff with a choice of three branches to cling to will put faith in one.  The amount of faith they put into the branch will not effect whether they put faith in the right branch or not.

  • Strong faith in a weak branch will not enable the weak branch to hold up
  • Weak faith in a strong branch will not disable the branches strength.

Although you can grow in your faith, thus making you more confident with the thing you have faith in, you DO have faith and that  is all you need.

Now what do you have faith in? Everybody has faith in something.  The person who doubts, is not just shrinking in their faith- they are transferring their faith to an alternate source of confidence. The person who has doubt in creation- has faith in spontaneous evolution, doubt in systematic theology = faith in simple childlike understanding, doubt in capitalism = faith in communism, doubt in justice = faith in injustice.

  • I might doubt my dads opinion, because, my mum’s opinion sounds more right. I tranfer my faith to my mum, from my dad.
  • I might doubt what the doctor says about my son’s health because I have more faith in my own opinion.
  • I might doubt that Jesus can provide everything I want and need, because I think that I could provide that more accurately.

Any doubt is a declaration of faith in something else.

Why is this helpful? Do you doubt?  Yes, we all do.  Where is your faith? Is it in God? “Well yes, but…”.  But, you have some faith in God, but more faith in rationality, your senses, other opinions, selfish ambition?

Where is your faith? Is it in a constant or a variable?

***

Do I have faith in God?

  • Yes. I believe that God is eternally sovereign, and that he really loves me and that he really wants the best for me, even if they don’t seem like the best thing to me at the time.
  • No. I don’t believe that God is eternally sovereign, and that he really loves me and that he really wants the best for me, even if they don’t seem like the best thing to me at the time.

As James writes, faith without deeds is dead.  If you truly have faith in something, your impulsive responses to life effect what you have faith in.  Therefore, if you have faith in Christ, your impulsive response is to worship him, and to worship Christ is to obey him in love.

Leave a Reply

