Taking my job seriously

Today I was able to take time in my lunch break to catch up on my daily bible devos.  I was going over my notes in Colossians and I found a note on ☆ Col 3:22-25 22Slaves, obey your earthly masters in everything; and do it, not only when their eye is on you and to win their favor, but with sincerity of heart and reverence for the Lord. 23Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord, not for men, 24since you know that you will receive an inheritance from the Lord as a reward. It is the Lord Christ you are serving. 25Anyone who does wrong will be repaid for his wrong, and there is no favoritism.

What a heavy word for me.  I have totally been shirking off my time responsibilities at work, deliberately taking longer than I should be… what was I thinking?

I printed out the verse and stuck it to my monitor with a slight change to the wording (slaves-omitted, master-boss) to become more relevant to the immediate situation.

Thank you Jesus!  I am so thankful for your grace over me!  Every day I find myself fallen short of your glory – and it is for your glory, every day I am given grace and the Spirit to improve.

I think that it’s good to note that after pasting the verse in clear vision my attitude toward work had changed drastically.  Two things became very apparent.
1) I am accountable for ever moment of my life.  Each moment is pledged for worship – as I look at the verse I am reminded of that fact, and adjust my attitude to reflect that truth.
2) The verse was deliberately placed where Brian & mum and any client could easily see it.  So now my diligence it work testifies directly to my faith. If they notice me slugging off – that testifies to my faith!  And not in a good way!  If I am to be a good witness, I must be diligent in my walk otherwise I am a hypocrite.  Notice that I used the world diligent, as in a good honest go, not perfection.

Leave a Reply

